Department of Government Blog, August 2009




Department of Government

Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title



The Department of Government is distinguished by the breadth and quality of its faculty, students, and curriculum. To support continued quality the Department of Government blog is dedicated to providing timely news, events, and items of interest pertaining to political science and the Department of Government at the University of Texas at Austin.



Contents: Aug. 1 –- Ladewig Promoted to Associate –- Mclendon Promoted to Associate –- Peabody’s Research Cited on Senate Floor –- Ayesha Ray Named to SSQ Advisory Board –- Wampler Awarded Fulbright -– David Williams Signs Contract with Cambridge –- Hart Receive APSA Graber Award –- New Assistant Professor: Bethany Albertson –- Faculty Memorial Index -– Aug. 2 –- Recent Placements -– Aug. 24 -– Emmette Redford: Elected APSA President 50 Years Ago* -- Aug. 25 -– Pi Sigma Alpha -– Five Issues for the United States and Iran -– Iran’s Long Road to Reform -– Summer in Beijing -– Dr. Manley Elliot Banks, 1953-2009 -– The Strategist: Brent Scowcroft and the Call of National Security -– Working in the Texas Legislature -– Learning to Govern, Learning to Live -– On the Camping Trail -– The Bunche Experience -– What must Republicans learn from the Obama Campaign? -– Hinich Named Methods Inaugural Fellow -– Box-Steffensmeier Named Methods Inaugural Fellow -– Aug. 30 -– Chapman Begins Post-Doc at Princeton -– Casellas Begins Post-Doc in Australia -– Boone Elected to African Studies Association Board of Directors -– Recent PhD’s Awarded -– Holtzman Wins Teacher of the Year Award -– Devotta to Wake Forest –- DeHart to Texas State -– Janet Boles Retires –- Barr Promoted at Mary Washington -– Fleischmann to Eastern Michigan -– Hazán Offered Book Contract by Cambridge -– Aug. 31 -– Alumni Publications, 2008-09

LCSH Subject Headings