Department of Government Blog, April 2012


The Department of Government is distinguished by the breadth and quality of its faculty, students, and curriculum. To support continued quality the Department of Government blog is dedicated to providing timely news, events, and items of interest pertaining to political science and the Department of Government at the University of Texas at Austin.



Contents: April 2 -– Graduate Student Paper at 2012 MPSA -– Turbowitz Book Named Outstanding Academic Title -– Pangle’s Book Released in Chinese –- Brink’s Research Cited by The Economist -– Post Highlights Jesse’s Research –- Hooker Awarded Visiting Fellowship -– Boone Names APSA Program Co-Chair -– Chapman to Receive Tenure -– Recent Faculty Books -– J. Wood Accepts Visiting Position at Allegheny -– Ken Williams on Game Theory -– D. Williams Awarded Fellowship -– Two from D. Williams -– Teigen and Arbour on Unhyphenated Americans -– Teigen Spends Fulbright in Tbilisi -– J. Seo Moves to Kyung Hee University -– Book Chapter form Ayesha Ray -– Three From Curt Nichols -– McQuerry Leaves Federal Reserve -– McKenzie and Unger on Judicial Elections -– D. Hickey Observes Elections in Taiwan -– Fleischmann on Urbanization of the South -– Field Article in JOP -– New Pubs form Dursun-Ozkanca -– Lyle Brown Presents at SPSA -– Zinman Promoted to Associate -– Booth Now Emeritus at North Texas -– C. Fred Alford Wins Best Teacher Award –- Holtzman to Receive Tenure at Bryant -– Risley Tenured at Rhodes -– Danny Hayes Presents at 2011 Alumni Speaker Series -– Two Books from Dyer -– Nogueiira-Budny to be Fellow at GWU -– Loret de Mola Participates in Iberoamerican Summit -– Two Articles from Buehler –- Stauffer Wins Teaching Award –- Prindle and Sager Win Teaching Awards -– Meyer Receives Open-Pool Admittance to IQMMR –- April 7 -– Bilakovics Book Published by HUP -– April 23 -– Brownlee Awarded USIP Grant

LCSH Subject Headings