Kalos eidos for piano and wind ensemble




Yoon, Minho, 1986-

Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title



Kalos Eidos is a twenty-minute concerto for piano and wind ensemble based on the operating principle of a kaleidoscope, and the image seen through it. It was premiered by the pianist Alexander Malikov and the conductor Pamornpan Komolpamorn at the University of Texas at Austin in April 2019. This piece represents systematic compositional processes and the use of organized musical elements to transform the features of the kaleidoscope into musical patterns. Two essential ideas appear throughout the piece: (1) the concept of specular reflection in symmetry, (2) the abstract and colorful images in geometric form. These are highlighted by various compositional techniques. The first chapter provides the origin of the piece, as well as my reason for the choice of genre and solo instrument. The second chapter examines the strategy for structural design and particular compositional techniques. Finally, the third chapter is the comprehensive analysis of the piece.



LCSH Subject Headings